Scotland is a country that is part of the United Kingdom.  It occupies the northern third of the island of Great Britain and shares a border with England to the south and is bounded by the North Sea to the east, the Atlantic Ocean to the north and west, and the North Channel and Irish Sea to the southwest.  In addition to the mainland, Scotland consists of over 790 islands including the Northern Isles and the Hebrides.

The capital of Scotland is Edinburgh, which is the second largest city and is one of Europe’s largest financial centers.  Scotland’s largest city is Glasgow.  The official languages of Scotland are English, Gaelic, and Scots.

The Fife town of St. Andrews is known internationally as the “Home of Golf and the British Open is played most often at The Old Course at St. Andrews.  Other famous Scottish golf courses include Carnoustie, Gleneagles, Muirfield, and Royal Troon. 

The Scottish scenery is absolutely breathtaking, and it’s no secret that movie producers have taken advantage of it’s never-ending beauty.  There have been over 180 major motion pictures filmed in Scotland.  Of these, some of the more famous include:

  • Braveheart, starring Mel Gibson and winning 5 Oscars in 1996
  • The DaVinci Code with Tom Hanks
  • Several of the Harry Potter films
  • Patrick Dempsey’s love story, Made of Honor
  • and finally, Pierce Brosnan’s, The World Is Not Enough

Flag of Scotland