I’m well aware that I say this every time, but I truly cannot believe that we are at the two-month mark!  To think, we started with EIGHTEEN months…the way time flies is beyond me!

I have been entirely too consumed in wedding and I literally cannot sleep at night because there are just a million things going through my head – like invitations…programs…welcome cards…attendant gifts…kilts…ah!!  The madness literally doesn’t stop.  And to make matters worse, I decided to take a trip through my previous posts….just to make sure I wasn’t missing anything!  ::UGH::  As if worrying about what I can remember isn’t bad enough – try adding on everything else I said I wanted to do, but forgot about!!

And don’t even get me started on the Old Course Hotel.  Since beginning planning in December 2008, the Old Course Hotel has had at least three wedding coordinators.  Not to mention that they are owned by an American company and nothing can be changed until it has the good ol’ American Stamp-of-Approval!  Which leads me to my first gripe – we still don’t have a wedding menu planned.  Umm…pretty sure that was due to happen about six months ago!  And I’m sure Wendy is just thrilled with me because I remind her of it literally on a daily basis.  (Sorry!!)

Then there’s the music.  Paul is going to be our DJ in Scotland and I’ve been sending him music for the past couple months…thus enter problem: I’ve sent him about 4 songs total.  FAIL.  I. Need. HELP!

And invitations….oooooh invitations.  Whenever I said I was DIY-ing my invites, why didn’t anyone slap the back of my head and bring me back to reality?!  Sure – these cost less (and in my opinion are way cooler than anything we could have bought), but seriously?!  Six months spent putting together invites is a bit overkill, eh?!  <—I totally know it’s Canadian…but I’ve been reading it a lot in my Harry Potter books – so perhaps it’s English, too, eh?! 🙂

I’ve made myself a list of things that need to be done before the wedding and the list just seems to be growing out of control…not to mention it’s a beautiful afternoon and I’m stuck inside because I can’t use our deck (recently stained…grr!!)

Okay, enough venting…onto the checklist for this month!!

  • Grooms, if you’re renting a tux, visit the formalwear shop to get measured.
    • I know I promised to have this done last month, but sorry!  I sent out all the information to our kilt-wearers and found out just last weekend that our chosen kilt supplier only accepts UK credit cards.  Now, I’m just waiting to get measurements from everyone so I can send it on to Miss Wendy.  Struggles.
  • Brides: Confirm delivery date of your wedding dress and schedule first fitting.
    • Dress delivered: CHECK!  First fitting scheduled: KIND OF CHECK!  We know where we’re going to get alterations, just haven’t made the arrangements.  I obviously want Mom with me, so I have to check with her schedule – likely it’ll be after I am finished student teaching (YAY!) which is in like 2 weeks!
  • Arrange for all insurance policies to include you and your future spouse: health, auto, homeowner’s, and life insurance.
    • I don’t really know how to go about doing this, but I’m sure we’ll get it figured out!!  I’ll go ahead and check this one off for the time being.
  • Brides: Provide a guest list to your bridesmaids for the bridal shower.
    • I could have sworn I had already checked this off, but maybe not…anyway, bridal shower was a success (I know, I still need to update you on it!!  Sorry!!  Just waiting for Mom’s camera!) and therefore, I’d say we can check this off!
  • Order enough liquor, wine and/or champagne to stock the reception bar (if it’s not included in the catering contract).
    • Well, drinks in Scotland will just be cash or on account and as far as the reception here, sorry – it won’t be making an appearance!
  • Arrange wedding transportation for you, your wedding party, and guests (as needed).
    • CHECK!!  Guests will be walking (since St. Andrews is all of about 5 miles big!) and my Dad, Mom, sister, and I will be toting around in this:

source

  • At three months out, send your wedding invitations.
    • I’ve been working tirelessly on these invitation and they will be out before the three-month mark of our wedding reception.  They’re just not quite ready yet!!
  • Start writing the ceremony program if you’re having one.
    • Just started the research for this yesterday and it’ll be pretty simple to create since we already have our ceremony in place.  I’ll consider this a check!
  • Make parking arrangements for the reception.
    • No need!  We’ll be walking everywhere and our reception in Indy already has a parking lot!! Perfecto!
  • Begin working on your ceremony vows, especially if you’ll be writing your own.
    • Well, we won’t be writing our own, but we have already finished our vows!  There’s just something romantic about the same vows that have been read time and time again by countless numbers of couples.  I think we’ll stick with that!
  • Brides: Decide on and purchase your wedding veil and wedding shoes prior to your final dress fittings.
    • Check! and Check!  Both are finished (if you remember the veil fiasco!) and I have finally decided on a pair of shoes (because every bride needs THREE, right?!)
  • As you receive wedding gifts, be sure to update your online registries and record the gifts you get.
    • Bed Bath and Beyond has already called us to let us know we should add more to our registry since so much has already been purchased, but we declined the offer.  There is still plenty there, and besides – your presence is our present!!  But Thank-Yous have been sent for those gifts we have received – so we’re good in that department!
  • Make a plan for the kids at your reception.
    • Haven’t really decided about this yet, but we’ll likely just do some coloring books, etc.  Besides, all the weddings I have ever been to, the kids love to dance and they ignore the kids table altogether!  Sure, I’ll have something planned for the shy ones, but it’s not causing me to lose sleep at night!
  • Submit your newspaper wedding announcement.
    • Seems a little odd to me, but oh well!  We will announce our marriage – but we’ll wait until we’re actually married!!
  • Brides: Have your first wedding dress fitting.
    • Hopefully before the end of this month, I will have completed this!!!  Hopefully!!
  • Research local marriage license requirements.
    • Ugh!  I know all too well about “marriage license requirements”.  Don’t get me started!!!
  • Confirm hotel reservations for out-of-town guests.
    • Since we’re all out-of-town, I guess I should make sure everything’s in order!!!  But, because we’re all big kids, I trust that everyone got the reservations they needed to!  Besides, if they have questions, they’ve definitely not been too shy to ask!
  • Set aside a time to write thank you notes after the bridal shower.
    • Checkity-check-check!!  It only took me forever, but I got it done!!
  • Grooms: Attend your bachelor party.
    • Eh…well…we’ll see about this.  As far as I’m concerned, there isn’t even one in the works right now!!!  Unless of course he’s just considering golf at the Castle Course his bachelor party?!
  • Make a hair trial appointment to make sure you get the look you want on your wedding day.
    • Something I learned from Emily…hair trials are immensely important!!  Good news!  I already have mine booked!! Phew!
  • Finalize your ceremony vows.
    • Thought we touched on this?!  CHECK!
  • Brides: Purchase gifts for your maid of honor.
    • …or in my case, Grande Dame of Honour!!  Yes, gifts have been purchased – and I hope she’s as thrilled to receive them as I am to give them to her!!!
  • Grooms: Purchase gifts or your best man.
    • Okay, so he’s not as efficient as I am!!  Oh well!  I’ll get him on it…eventually!
  • Brides: Attend final wedding gown fitting.
    • I’ll get to it – I’ll get to it!! Give me a minute!!

So there you have it – two months to go and the list just keeps getting longer!!! Eek!!  I can truly say that I am scared out of my mind that everything won’t get done!!

But on a positive note…honeymoon details are being more finalized!!  We have our hotels and trains booked and today we even booked our London Pass which will give us free access to some of the most amazing attractions in London!!  We’re already planning out our week!! Hip-hip-HOORAY!!!

