Wow!  I can’t believe it’s been more than a month since I’ve filled you in on a Scottish wedding tradition…and what’s worse?!  I’m going to run out of weeks before I can complete all the traditions!! Hmmf…towards the end, we might be looking at a Tradition Tuesday and Thursday!  Sorry!!

But this tradition is fun – and definitely something I’ll be keeping up with!  I’m truly going to have to get myself a notebook of all these traditions so I remember to do them!!

A Sixpence in the Bride’s Shoe… (adopted from MyWeddingBouquet.com)

Traditionally, a small silver coin, called a sixpence, was placed in the bride’s shoe for good luck.  As sixpences no longer exist, this has been replaced by a penny or any modern “silver type” coin.

(source)

Above is the traditional sixpence – maybe I’ll try to search one out, if not, I’ll definitely be finding another coin – perhaps someone ::hint hint:: can drop a hint and Neil will hand me a coin the night before the wedding?!  How precious would that be?  I’d love it! 🙂

So let’s recap the traditions I am definitely going to follow (this is really more for me than you, but you can enjoy anyway!!)…

