And when I say that, I mean PROGRESS!!!

Oh, wow – how time really flies!!!  Has it really almost been a month already?!  Wow!!  Do you want to hear my apologies and excuses?!  No?  I didn’t think so!! So let’s get a move on…because I’ve got BIG THINGS to discuss with you all!!!

As Emily noted shortly after my 3-month post…I’m exhausted.  I am done with wedding.  Yes, I’m fully aware I will regret that come July 25th, but that’s how I feel right now!  I have been going 150% W-E-D-D-I-N-G since two December’s ago.  And now that we’re closing in on two months, it’s gotten even worse!!  Of course, with this week being spring break, I’ve been able to breathe and let W-E-D-D-I-N-G catch up with me!  For a while there, I truly felt like I had just forgotten about it and it wasn’t coming…sound familiar?

Anyway, Monday started with me doing MAJOR invitation work!  Finally, most* everything is printed (* refers to the fact that I ran out of paper…because a certain someone’s printer likes to eat massive amounts of it for lunch! Grrr).  But enough of it is printed that I can start cutting and assembling.  It’ll be a miracle if it all goes together as planned…considering I didn’t really try it out with the thick paper we’re using to begin with (lesson #1!).  Either way – I think they’ll turn out great…and besides, if I’m happy with them, who’s to say that everyone else won’t be either?!  I am the bride so I should be the only one that’s overly concerned with invitations…  Speaking of which…this is what invitations has done to this poor house…

That, my friends, is what used to be known as the dining room table – now ambushed by envelopes and boxes.  And what’s in those boxes, you ask?  Well, let’s just take a gander…

Well, there’s a little sneak-peak for ya!!  Oh, and my paper trimmer…truly the lifesaver of the entire invitation process!!!  But wait!!  There’s more!!

Pens!  Sticky Dots!  Ribbon!  Invitations!  Woo Hoo!!!

The chosen invitation storage spot!!   This poor room…it’s been an absolute disaster since about mid-October when I decided that DIY invitations were a GRAND idea!  But hey!  At least the grass is (slowly) starting to turn green!  🙂

And COOKIES!!  Because doing invitations wasn’t enough…I needed to BAKE while I was at it!! Yum!!  Too bad I won’t get to eat any! 😦 (Well, except for the one that’s missing!! Whoops!! 🙂 )

And once the invitations are out of my hands (tentative date…April 10), I will begin the official reveal!  Until then, just hold tight!  I will say…I’m pretty proud of how they turned out!!

Along with invitations, I have been trying my hardest to get Bridal Shower Thank You’s out.  (Speaking of…I promise to get a Bridal Shower update…once I have my Mom’s camera)  I can officially say that they are all FINITO and just waiting pretty little stamps because they go out to Mr. Postman.  Those were DIY, too, which I will say I was also proud of (aside from the poopie print job! 😦 )

Lesson #2 with invitations…exhaust ALL sources before deciding on the wording of your invitation.  I will admit, 135 invitations were printed with one wording example and 15 with a different wording example.  And I’ll be honest, I prefer the 15 to the 135…but I really didn’t want to go back and change it so oh well!!  🙂  I’m the BRIDE…remember?!

Something else that has been on my plate for a few weeks now…visas.  Scotland is supposed to be one of the easiest places to get married…but I will disagree with that one!  (No offense, Wendy…but you know what I mean!)  Anyway, Neil and I have to apply for visas before we can get married.  Nevermind the fact that you can visit the UK for 6 months without a visa whatsoever.  So in February, I applied for my visa.  I included all the documents they asked for and away it went.  Well, last Wednesday, I received UPS Express Envelope from the Visa Section of the British Consulate in Chicago.  Well, let’s just say that I didn’t fulfill the requirements they desired.  Of course, I had no idea about these requirements, but nonetheless, the tears came flowing.  And at 10:30pm Scotland time…I emailed Wendy in an absolute panic.  At that moment, we weren’t getting married.  It was all coming to a screeching halt and we were done.  Indy wedding…here we come.  But she calmed me down (can you believe how awesome she is?!  Writing me back at 10:30pm!!!  Love her!) and we came to a resolution.  Mom took a bunch of documents with her (because yes, I kindly asked her to come over while I panicked) and started calling person after person the following day.  She had much success and we were able to figure out what we needed to do.

Fast-forward to last night…I started working on a “Supporting Documents” page for Neil to include with his visa application.  This Supporting Documents page has 6 sections, each with at least 2 or 3 (sometimes SIX) exhibits.  The exhibits range from pay stubs and bank statements to reservation confirmations and even a letter from my parents!  He’s got quite the stack of papers ready to be sent to the Consulate.  Although, with all this said, let me just say this…and you can quote me…“I WISH IT WERE THAT HARD TO GET INTO THE UNITED STATES!!!!!” So for that, I thank you Mr. British Consulate!  So once I get a few more things nailed down, away they’ll go…and we’ll cross our fingers than another $130 doesn’t have to be spent!!

Do you see that mess?!  That’s what the British Consulate has caused me to do!!

Papers! Papers!  And a DIET COKE?!  Boy will Neil be glad when this is over with!!!

So I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything will turn out okay and that in the end, we’ll be official!  I think this time I have everything they want.

Stay tuned…fun stuff coming!! 🙂

