This is been one exciting week for me!!!  March 6th is my bridal shower.  I italicized “my” because I’ve been to plenty of bridal showers – and I really never thought that mine would come around!!  First, in July, we were planning to have my shower at Thanksgiving – then, we decided to push it back to the Spring.  Great!  That meant that it was never going to arrive!!  Well, friends, it has!!  And for once, people are going to show up and hang out with awesome ME for a few hours.  They are going to eat cake and play games for ME and I couldn’t feel more blessed!!  I am so humbled by the number of people who truly believe that I am important enough to spend three hours on their busy Saturday to come to my bridal shower.  I really am spoiled!!

And I am not only spoiled by the people who are coming to share this day with me, I am also spoiled by my sister, best friend, mom, and mother-in-law (I’m only referring to her as that so we know the difference…I really don’t prefer the term “-in-law”).  They have worked so hard to get this thing going for me…and if there is one thing I know from experience, it’s that creating a shower that is never to be forgotten isn’t a simple task!!  And for my sister, I can only imagine!!!  Being four states away has surely got to be a pain!!  But today, she’s coming into town and all three of them are going to crack the whip to get the finishing touches – well, finished!!

In the meantime, let me pay a tribute to the four best women in my life!!!

Ellen, I couldn’t ask for a better mother(-in-law).  When planning weddings (and just in general), it tends to be a common thread to complain about mother-in-laws.  I must have done something right because you are the best mother(-in-law) a bride could ask for.  You are so helpful with everything – teaching and the wedding – and you are always there to talk.  I truly wish that someday, I can be as understanding and wonderful as you are!

Mom, I know we’ve had our trials, but you really are my best friend.  I know I may frustrate you at times, but you are so forgiving and patient.  You’re the most compassionate person I know and if it weren’t for you, I would not be who I am today.  I love you so much and I strive to be a mother just like you some day.

Emily, Our relationship has been some what of an odd one.  From running to each other like we hadn’t seen each other in years during softball (despite going to the same high school) to our sudden realization that we really are meant to be best friends.  You are the best friend a girl could ask for.  You always know exactly what to say – whether to comfort me or to make me laugh – and you know exactly when I just need someone to listen.  I am so happy that you have chosen (out of your own will) to be part of my special day – even if you can’t actually be there.

Last, but surely not least, Amy.  I truly could not ask for a better sister.  Despite your “evil eyes” when we were little, you have always been someone I know I can talk to no matter what.  I love you so much and I could not think of anyone better to be standing next to me on the day I marry my best friend.  I love you so much and if I could wish just one thing that I would change, it would be that we lived closer to each other!!!  But who knows…time will tell!! 🙂  Thank you so much for everything you have done – and everything I know you will do for me (and us) in the future!

How lucky am I?  I truly feel like the most blessed person on this planet!!  Thank you – every one of you – for all that you have done for me (and us)!!!

