So I just know that we’ve talked about the luckenbooth brooch before…but maybe not!!  Anyway, this is sometime that’s extremely Scottish and in all honesty – I’d love for my groom to get me one for the wedding (hint, hint…I know he doesn’t read this – but you can drop the hint to him!!!)

Luckenbooth Brooch… (adopted from GunnClan.net)

Give your love a Scottish brooch, called a “Luckenbooth”, as a token of your love or as a marriage gift. It is usually made of silver and is engraved with two hearts entwined. Many couples will then pin this to the blanket of their first baby for good luck.

I’ve heard Wendy talking about the luckenbooth brooch.  Not particularly to me, but in a recent TV interview she was part of.  It’s quite romantic when the groom gives his bride the brooch – and even more romantic to have it as a keepsake to pass along to your children.  Of course, it helps that Neil is Scottish – so we’re not total losers that just want to pretend we’re falling into these particular traditions.  It will really have meaning!!  And who knows, maybe when Neil gets to Scotland he will fall back into his old heritage and become quite the Scottish bloke!  Anyway, I love the luckenbooth brooch – and it comes in so many varieties!!!

source

source

source

source

