Since tomorrow is my last day of my last class of my last semester…EVER…I figured it was a good time to fill you all in as to what’s been going on!!  I really cannot apologize more for how sporadic I have been!! I feel absolutely awful.  I have been so busy with getting school stuff done that I’ve literally just forgotten all about my little corner of the internet world!  Whoops!!  So you have me back…for now anyway! 🙂

Well, Saturday will begin the wonderful Wedding Invitation Extravaganza 2010.  I am so excited this day has finally come.  I have refused to do anything until Saturday…simply because I want to make sure there is PLENTY for Mrs. Davis and I to do!!! 😉  But it’s all sitting out and it’s all organized so we should be fine!  Okay, I take that part back about not doing anything…I did put one together, just because I wanted to see how it’d look.  I love it.  L.O.V.E. love it!  So in about a month…get excited for your little mailboxes will be packed with wedding cheer!!!

Next topic: cakes!  A design and flavors have been decided!!  The design was easy…Mom and I went in for our tasting and chose the design right away.  I absolutely love it and I really think it’s going to look great with everything else we have planned!  Not to mention that Sunshine Bakery has the amazing talent of being able to make buttercream look like fondant!  So don’t be alarmed when you lay your eyes on it…it’s not yucky cardboard fondant.  It’s yummy and oh so tasty real buttercream icing!!  Yipee!!  As for the flavors, Neil and I went in last weekend to finalize those.  I think we ended up trying 9 or 10 total…along with about 5 fillings.  We tried the most unusual combinations, but in the end, decided on four flavors that we think everyone will love.  What are those flavors, you might ask?  Ha!  Like I’m going to spill the beans now!!  Let’s just say this…our cake will not only be the tastiest on the block, it will also be the most colorful….ooooh, I’ve said too much!!

Decor…  Oooh, decor…  For weeks now I have been going through my little memory bank of weddings I’ve attended to think about how I want our reception to look.  Piper’s on its own has an amazing elegance to it, but we still want to add our own flair.  Okay, well, we can’t really say it’s our flair, but it’s still pretty awesome!  Yesterday, Mom and I met with Anna again to look at different centerpiece ideas.  First of all, WOW.  Mom and I were absolutely floored with her creativity.  Some of the things she did…wow!  Really?!  And to think she completely came up with it on her own!  I wish I was half as creative as her!!  Anyway, we had three different table settings that we looked at…and then Mom and I made it four because we switched some things around.  Within about 10 minutes, we had our decision.  Then Anna added a little something extra and we couldn’t believe our eyes.  Everything about these tables screams our theme!!  Scotland.  Elegance.  Love.  And Mom swears they centerpieces are “simple”, but I don’t think she knows what the term “simple” really means.  Here’s what Webster has to say about “simple”…not ornate or elaborate. Okay, so maybe our centerpieces aren’t “ornate” per se, but they are definitely elaborate and unusual.  They’re unique and I guarantee you will have NEVER seen our centerpieces at a wedding…and I’m half inclined to bet that you never will.  We’re just that awesome!!  So either way, we’re now awaiting the final quote from Anna, as well as a floor plan and timeline.  Once we have all that, we’ll just need to concern ourselves with a dinner tasting!! 🙂

And finally, entertainment!  After going back and forth about fifty-two times, we finally decided on something.  First, Paul was going to be our emcee, but then he decided that I was asking too much and that he’d rather just enjoy himself at our wedding.  Who can blame him?  After all, it’s his favorite sister (I don’t particularly care for the term “in-law”) getting married!!!  So I talked to Ryan, Emily and Eric’s DJ and unfortunately, he was already booked.  But he was able to refer me to someone else.  Danny at Elite Beat DJ has been a delight to work with.  He’s very low-key and totally understand that we don’t want some loser in a sequined vest saying inappropriate things to our guests.  He fit our style (and budget!) perfectly!  So we went ahead and booked him up.  Talk about some major checks this week!!

Oh, and I know I said finally, but I guess there is still one more thing.  The super fine details that no one will ever notice are being finalized!!  I took a quick trip to JL Johnson’s to check out some more bling.  I found one more thing for myself and a couple things for a loved one of mine.  Unfortunately, mine has to be a special order but I have no doubt that it will turn out exactly how I envisioned.  As for that loved one of mine, their items are in the process of being created and should be finished in about a week or so!  I am so excited!!  Everything is starting to come together so beautifully!!!

My apologies for no pictures today…:(  Because I’m so awesome at being secretive, I just can’t share those with you yet!! 🙂

