As I sit here addressing envelopes, it dawns on me.  We’re four months out.  That’s kind of scary to think!!!  Don’t get me wrong…I absolutely can’t wait…but it’s all approaching so quickly!

So today marks a perfect opportunity to check out our checklist and see what progress we’ve made since last month! 🙂

  • Book your cake baker, choose a wedding cake design you love, and send a deposit once you’ve signed the wedding cake contract.
    • Check, check, check, and CHECK!  Finally, after two months of talking about it, we’ve finally done all four of those!!!  Last week was a successful week for that and I am sooo soo pleased to say that we’re finally done with all of that…well kind of, we need to pick flavors – but that’s not biggie!!
  • Choose and reserve all tables, chairs, and any other wedding rentals you’ll need for the reception.
    • Another check in the box!!  After choosing Pipers, we were able to check this – and several other things – off the list!  They take care of tables, chairs, etc., so that means they also take care of several headaches of both mine and my mom’s!!!
  • Book a calligrapher in your area.
    • Check!!  Her name is Amanda Arnold and I’ve heard she’s just FABULOUS!!!! 😉
  • Book your honeymoon flights and make all your other honeymoon travel reservations.
    • CHECK!!  Wahoo!!!  We are on a ROLL today!!  Honeymoon flights were taken care of in the process of booking wedding flights.  As far as other travel reservations (trains, etc.), we won’t be able to book that until about a week before!
  • Start addressing wedding invitations or drop them off with the calligrapher.
    • So that awesome calligrapher I was speaking of…yeah, she’s awesome…and she’s addressing envelopes as we speak! 🙂
  • Pick our or design a ketubah or other marriage contract required by your religion.
    • I’m not 100% sure about this one, but if it means to design the ceremony, it’s finished.  Other than that, there’s not a real hardcopy of a contract required by our religion…just the presence of God…and I think we’ll have that taken care of!
  • Grooms: Give all of the groomsmen the info they need to buy and/or reserve their attire.
    • Okay, I’ll admit, I’ve dropped the ball on this one.  Although, not entirely.  Everyone has the info, it’s just a matter of doing it.  I hope to get it done this weekend…maybe?!
  • Brides: Choose your bridesmaids’ accessories (shoes, jewelry) and either buy or pass along purchasing information.
    • The lucky thing about having one bridesmaid, she can pick whatever she wants in the shoe department!!  I’ve told her either the color of her dress or a gold color would work perfectly, but she also doesn’t want to even think about that until after the bridal shower.  Apparently she’s a bit more stressed about it than I am!! Oh well, she’s the best bridesmaid a girl could ask for!!  And in terms of jewelry, she received some of it via mi papa for Christmas and the rest of it has been picked out at JL Johnson’s.  It’s just a matter of getting there and buying it.
  • Shop for and purchase wedding bands.
    • Check!!!  We did this back in December and I am proud to say that both bands are perfect and safely tucked away in our wedding drawer!!  P.S. Did I mention that I absolutely love them both?! 🙂
  • Buy or rent ceremony decor and reception decorations that aren’t included in your flower proposal.
    • Fortunately, all of this stuff is taken care of by Miss Wendy!!  Isn’t she just the best?! 🙂
  • Brides: Put together a wedding beauty plan (hair treatments, self-tanners, cleansers) and make appointments at a nearby spa (massages, facials, etc).
    • A beauty plan began a few months ago.  I started getting my hair trimmed regularly to ensure it looks its best come June 10th.  I’ve also started tanning – but just mildly, maybe two or three times a week if I’m lucky.  As the time gets closer – and massage will definitely be a must!!!
  • Brides: Double-check that all your attendants have bought their dresses and accessories.
    • Well, the dress is bought, but I don’t think it’s picked up yet!!  Let’s just say the silly consultant demanded that my sister buy a dress that she’s fairly confident will not fit her.  She it’s purchased, she’s just scared to go pick it up!!!
  • Decide whether you want to give our wedding favors.
    • If providing people with an excuse to go to Scotland and the rest of the world isn’t a favor, I don’t know what is!!!
  • Talk to your maid of honour and best man about any prewedding party plans.
    • I don’t know what Troy’s plans are, but invites have been sent for my wonderful bridal shower!!  I absolutely cannot wait!! I know they’ve put so much work into it and I know it’s going to be perfect!
  • Brides: Make sure you have all the under-the-dress essentials and any special lingerie in time for your first wedding dress fitting.
    • To be honest, I haven’t even thought about this yet!!!  I guess I probably should though, huh?!  Oh well…a quick trip to Victoria’s Secret and I’m sure I’ll find what I need!
  • Pick up your invitations.
    • Well, invitations are sitting in the spare bedroom so I’d say that qualifies for “picking them up”.  They just need to be assembled…which will occur in approximately a week and a half!
  • Grooms: If you are renting a tux, visit the formalwear shop to get measured.
    • Does a kilt count?!  No, he hasn’t been measured but I promise it will happen!!
  • Gather all important documents that you’ll need for an international honeymoon.
    • Half check?!  Does that work?  We finally got him applied for a passport and once that comes in, we’ll need to apply for a marriage visa to the United Kingdom.  Once that’s finished, we’ll be set!
  • Finalize and confirm any special ceremony songs or ceremony readings with your VIPs.
    • As far as I’m concerned, there won’t be any, so check!
  • Talk to people you’d want to do special performances of readings as part of the ceremony.
    • Again….see above!
  • Brides: Confirm delivery date for your wedding dress and schedule your dress fittings.
    • Well, I’ve had the dress for eons so I guess the next thing is to schedule fittings!!  I’ll be sure to get that one worked out!
  • If you are handling the bridesmaid dress order, confirm the delivery date.
    • Dress is ordered and has arrived…it’s just a matter of picking it up!!
  • If you haven’t registered for wedding gifts yet, be sure to do so.
    • Oh, that was finished years ago!!!

So HOORAY FOR US!!!!  We got sooo many things checked off this month and I truly cannot wait!!  I finally feel like things are falling into place!! 🙂  Now if June would just hurry up and arrive…

