Seven.  Months.  Whoa.

I thought about it last night when I got an oil change – my car will only be back in the shop for an oil change one more time before we’re married.

Seven months ago, I was finishing my Bachelor’s degree.

Seven months ago, my sister was celebrating her birthday.

That was not that long ago.  I clearly remember it!  And I’m sure several of you do, as well.  It’s insane to think, but in just seven short. short. short. months, my groom and I will be husband & wife!!

  • Decide on and meet with your officiant.
    • Leave it.  I know.  That’s all I have to say.
  • Set aside a block of hotel rooms for out-of-town guests.
    • Is there such thing as a “half-check”?!  What would that look like?  Anyway…since everyone will be an out-of-town guest in dear Scotland, hotel rooms have already been booked.  The Scores Hotel and The MacDonald Rusacks Hotel have several rooms reserved.  As for the at-home reception, Neil and I have looked at several hotels around us and have a couple picked out.  At this point, an exact reception date hasn’t been entirely decided…perhaps I’ll elaborate more later – but it’s a sour subject.
  • Brides: Decide on the bridesmaid dresses.
    • Check-ity check check!!  If  you remember, I was soooo super excited when my sister finally decided on bridesmaid dress.  It’s perfect – and yes, as you can imagine, I know she’ll look absolutely ah-may-zing in that dress!!
  • Book a baker, choose your wedding cake design, and send a deposit.
    • Are you guys getting just as bored with these repeat checklist items as I am?!  Geez – we’re way behind schedule!!  What can you expect…?  Perhaps over Christmas break we can make a change and get some things in order!!
  • Purchase and send guests save-the-dates.
    • Last month, I mentioned that we still weren’t at a final decision on save-the-dates.  Well – now we are.  We are not doing them so finally, this is something we can check off the list!!!  Pheww!!  I was getting worried there for a minute.
  • Brides: Collect necessary measurements from attendants.
    • The perfect thing about having one bridesmaid…she can collect her own measurements!!  And just in case you’re wondering…the dress has already been ordered!! 🙂
  • Book ceremony musicians and send deposit.
    • CHECK!!!  Several months ago, we began looking at ceremony musicians.  Being in Scotland, of course we had to include bagpipes, so yes – we are.  But that couldn’t be the only music being played so we decided on a harp and flute as well.  Listening to their samples online gives me chills.  It’s going to be perfect.  I really can’t wait!
  • Brides: Order your gown.
    • C-H-E-C-K!!!  If you weren’t aware of this…you’ve been living under a rock for the past 6 months.  Enough said!
  • Start planning the rehearsal dinner.
    • Yes!  We are on a rolllll!!  Check!  Check!  Check!  The rehearsal dinner has been booked!!  The Oak Rooms at Ogstons on North Street is our venue of choice and the menu is perfect.  I made sure we were on top of this one because everything was starting to get booked up so quickly.  I am so happy with our choice and I really hope everyone else will be, too!!
  • Start working on your invitation wording and design.
    • Well, considering that today I just ordered the paper for our invitations, I would say that we can consider this a check!!  “Start working on…” is the understatement of the year.  The invitations have been through about 52 different stages and to be honest, they’re still not perfect.  After talking about things with Neil – I think in a couple weeks they should be finalized.  Just a few small tweaks.
  • Finalize your invitation wording.
    • Odd that these two are in the same month.  Anyway – as far as the wording, this a definitely a check!  There are two different invitations so that meant twice the work.  Either way, the work is done and now invitation-creation may commence…after a couple tweaks, of course!
  • Finalize menu and service details with caterer.
    • I’m going to consider this a check, but we really can’t do this for real until after the new year.  When we first booked The Old Course Hotel, I mentioned to Wendy what we wanted for our dinner choices.  The menu at the hotel will be changing in 2010, but she assured me that he would get a bespoke menu created based on our choices.
  • Order your invitations and announcements.
    • Check!!  As mentioned before, the invitation paper has been ordered.  Several other aspects of the invitation suite has also been ordered and received.  And for those things that just come from the store, they have been bought!!  I’d say we’re making fantastic-o progress!
  • Research and purchase wedding insurance, if necessary.
    • I’ll be honest.  I don’t know what this is?!  Is this for people who don’t know if they’re going to actually be getting married when the time comes around or what?  Unless Neil turns into a big green monster with buggy-eyes and blue teeth, I don’t anticipate this happening…even then, it’s not likely!!

And also, because I’ve been uber-obsessed with hair accessories – what do you think?

Wedding Hair

source

I’m thinking three may be a bit too many, but definitely one.  Mom says that flowers will look “too tropical”, but I think if we find the right kind of flowers, it could be perfect.  I’ll  have a veil of course, but I just want something else…

Then I stumbled upon this…Miss Moonbeam

source

The lovely Miss Moonbeam created this entirely on her own.  Her creativity is amazing and I would love something like this!!  Maybe not this color, but in a light shade of white – perhaps it could work!  I think it’s just lovely!

