My sincerest apologies for last week being so “blah”.  I have several excuses, but I’ll save them as I’m sure you don’t want to hear it!!

Flowers have majorly been on my mind lately.  There are so many to choose from and it is so hard to figure out which ones are in season when and how they can be used.  For instance, I had no idea that peonies and hydrangeas couldn’t be used for a boutonniere!  Anyway, I’ve been emailing back and forth with Lorna (our florist) for a couple days now and I’m starting to get more of an idea for what we’re going to have available to us and what we won’t.  So let’s take a look…

Inspiration 4

  • Rose and Thistle Boutonniere:  I’m not a huge rose fan.  Don’t ask why because I’m not sure I could give you an answer.  I’m just not.  Perhaps it’s because they’re generic – like carnations – I don’t know.  I understand they are romantic and the image of a man coming home with a dozen roses just tickles the fancy of most women, but that’s just not me.  On the other hand, it’s one of the few flowers that is available to be worn as a boutonniere…boo.  And the thistle – while I feel it looks too Christmas-y, it is one of the very few (and by few, I mean “like the only”!!) blue flowers that can be incorporated into a boutonniere.  Now…with all that said – I kind of like it.  I have been back and forth with the boutonnieres for a while now, but the whole combination makes me smile…and perhaps the white rose is what does it.  Yes, it’s a rose, but it’s not red or something generic like that…it’s a beautiful and dainty white.  If all else fails, expect to see these next June!!
  • Calla Lily and Rose Boutonniere: I left the rose boutonniere on there just for comparison sake, but another boutonniere flower I have been juggling is the calla lily.  For the longest time (and by longest time, I mean like my whole life growing up), I thought I’d be carrying calla lilies on my wedding day.  Now, that trend has made a bit of a downward slope in recent years, but I still think they’re glorious flowers, and their ability to be used as a boutonniere makes them that much more appealing.  What do you think?!
  • Delphinium: What do you think of these?  They’re so unique and I think they would add just the right amount of pop to our floral arrangements.  I’m not 100% sure what they can be used for, but I think it’d be neat if we could get them to dangle from the candelabras.  I love when there are pieces hanging down…adds so much elegance!
  • Orchid Boutonniere: Seeing a trend here?!  I’d love to think that my bouquet and the staple flower for the whole wedding is set in stone, but it’s just those doggone boutonnieres that keep getting me.  Lorna mentioned being able to use orchids – and when I Googled it, I love the result.  Orchids are a simple flower, and I think they would go well with our whole theme!
  • Peony Bouquet: I just can’t get away from it.  I’ve sent this picture to Lorna and Wendy.  It blows me away.  I simply cannot describe what I think I’d feel like if I were clutching this on my wedding day.  The romance of them kills me…I would just love to be showered with them as I leave the ceremony…okay…that’s a bit much! 🙂
  • Lily of the Valley and Freesia Bouquet:  Lorna sent this bouquet to me as an alternate for the peony bouquet…and I think I would be totally okay with it.  I have pretty much told her that this would be choice number 2.  It’s very whimsical and romantic and I just adore the little lilies of the valley.  They remind me of little church bells…or a cute little girl with curly, flipped-up hair!  Just so darling!
  • Candelabras: If you look in the far back, you can see against the white background the greenery that is hanging down from the candelabra.  I love that.  I know the colors aren’t our wedding, but how romantic would it be to fill the Conservatory with these little candelabras with white peonies, blue hydrangeas, greenery, and candles?  I would be in heaven…

And in other wedding news, I have received word from Wendy that hotels should start being booked.  With the 2010 Open being only one month after our wedding, rooms are booking fast and rates and hiking up.  I’ve sent out a mass email to most of our wedding guests that will be in attendance and have received a couple responses.  So far, one part of the group is pretty much set in stone…only about eight more!  Wonderful!!

Neil and I have also decided to take on the daunting task of creating our own wedding invitations.  This isn’t something we originally planned on doing – in fact, I was hoping for no DIY at all – but after looking at the (ridiculous) prices for wedding invitations, we decided this was the better route.  And honestly, after a few rough drafts and much collaboration with Mrs. Emily, they’re turning out quite nice!  There are still a few tweaks as I am upset (read: livid, furious, maddened, resentful, and every other word in the thesaurus for upset) with JoAnn Fabrics.  Therefore, paper choices will be different than the original – but in the end, I’m assuming much cheaper…which will free up our budget for other things that can’t exactly go the DIY route!!  Anyway, the card table has been set out.  The guest room is a disaster.  My mind is a mess.  Yep, sounds about right for a DIY task of 150 invitations (not to mention the programs, menu cards, and million other things we’ll eventually decide to coordinate with the invitations…oh no, what mess have I gotten us into?!)!!!

