So because I have been just miserably sick with a nasty little cold, I decided to choose a less-than-exciting tradition!!

The Exchange of Rings… (adopted from WorldWeddingTraditions.com and PIBWeddings.com)

According to WorldWeddingTraditions.com, the exchange of rings occurred between the bride and groom at the end of the ceremony.  The ring is circular, with no beginning and no end, thus being the symbol of never-ending love.  Then the couple would kiss their wedding kiss in front of all their assembled witnesses.

And because I know that I can’t just leave you with that, I decided to do some more digging.  Where exactly does the tradition of wedding rings originate?  Well, this is where my research began.  PIBWeddings.com (wedding coordinators in Put-In-Bay) provides a quite comprehensive blurb regarding wedding rings, including this:

According to some historians, the first recorded marriage rings date back to the days when early man tied plaited circlets around a Bride’s wrists and ankles to keep her spirit from running away.  Approximately 3,000 BC, Egyptians originated the phrase, “without beginning, without end” in describing the significance of the wedding ring.  Three rings were made of woven hemp which constantly wore out and replacement.  Although Romans originally used iron, gold is now used as a symbol of all that is pure.  Diamonds were first used by Italians who believed it was created from the flames of love.  In some European cultures, the wedding ring is worn on the right hand.  In other cultures, the engagement ring is worn on the left hand and the wedding ring is worn on the right hand.

All of this I find very interesting…but of course, both my engagement and wedding rings will be worn on the left hand…because in this culture, that’s how we do it!! 🙂

So yes, Neil and I will be participating in the tradition of the exchanging of rings…now, if only I could get a ring shot like this…

Emily Ringsource

…I would be in absolute seventh heaven!!

