So for the second week of Tradition Tuesday, I present you with Creeling and Creeling the Bridegroom.  This tradition actually has two different meanings, so you lucked out and actually get two traditions for the price of one!

Note: Bridegroom (n): a man recently married or a man who is about to be married.  For those of you who aren’t a walking dictionary – this definition will surely help in the coming paragraphs!

Creeling the Bridegroom… (adopted from VowsFromTheHeartOfScotland.com and WorldWeddingTraditions.com)

This custom required the bridegroom to carry a large basket (aka a creel) filled with stones on his back.  He had to carry this weight from one end of the village to the next and continue carrying it around the town until his intended bride would come from her house and kiss him.

As the groom in more recent years endures the jokes of his groomsman, so too did the Highland groom of the past.  In the Scottish Highland, if the bride agreed to kiss him, his friends would allow him to escape from the creeling – if not, he had to continue until he had completed the circuit of the town.

This tradition confuses me.  I would suggest that this is the origin of the bachelor party – but some parts still make me wonder.  As we all know, the women aren’t typically involved in the bachelor party, so this is where I am stuck.  I really just can’t put my finger on it.  But either way, here is an example of a typical creel:

An example of a creel used in the Creeling of the Bridegroom.

An example of a creel used in the Creeling of the Bridegroom.

source

Some may also view the creel as a basket that is used during fishing – which is true.  This is partly why I am just entirely confused on the entire tradition.  Any suggestions?  Please please please let me know!!

As for tradition two for the day, it is simply called…Creeling!

Creeling… (adopted from WorldWeddingTraditions.com)

The creeling tradition occurs as the newlywed couple is exiting the church or place of ceremony.  Two people, one either side of the door or aisleway, hold up a fishing basket (or creel) with ribbons attached.  The happy couple then cut the ribbons and the basket falls to the floor.  This is done to bring health and wealth to the couple.

What?!  Are you kidding me?!

I have no earthly idea where this comes from and after about an hour of searching, online I still have no ideas!!  I’m just a lost soul in the world of Scottish wedding traditions!!  I don’t even have any lovely photos to share with you!!  Grr!  Now, I’m one frustrated bride!!  But I can tell you this much…this bride won’t be incorporating this tradition into her wedding!

P.S. Best Friend of the Bride is hopefully joining me for my first bridal show this Sunday.  She has been going on and on (and on and on and on and….) about how she’s an experience bride and how she can give me loads of advice.  Well – now I’m putting that claim to the ultimate test!!!  We’ll see how good you really are!! 😉

