I think the title of this post speaks for itself…MUCH progress has been made, and we’re talking more than just wedding progress!!!  Let’s look at what all has been knocked out in a measly day and a half:

Wedding…

  • A piper has been booked.  It’s lovely Keith Marshall from Premier PipersWendy works with him regularly…and looking at his website, I can see why!! 😉  He has several piping examples online which are available only for myself and Neil’s listening pleasure!!  It’s nice to be able to hear what something is going to sound like before you go and commit to it, so that was definitely an added bonus.  Plus, finding piping examples to find online is not the easiest of tasks!!
  • To compliment the pipes, we have also inquired on a clarsach player.  The clarsach is nothing more than the Scottish (or Gaelic) word for harp…so don’t be thinking we’re hiring worldly musicians here!!!  Wendy thinks the harp would be a nice addition to the pipe, since the harp is more soft and comforting!
  • We’ve also considered adding to the reception timeline.  There are several songs that define myself and Neil’s relationship, and who said that just because we’re having a small, intimate wedding we can’t dance?!  Anyway, we’re considering adding some dances to our reception, of course, this is entirely dependent on the size of our reception room, which I have also inquired on with Phyllis at the Old Course Hotel.

House…

  • Framing has begun and we now have walls!!!  We’ve been told that our house will be “blacked out” (which means the roof has the black fabric on it, ready for shingles) within 7 days of starting…which puts us at about this Wednesday/Thursday.  It’s so exciting to finally see where rooms are and the exact dimensions of the rooms!!!
  • I’ve also started calling all our suppliers to get those appointments in line.  I’m visiting with Chris at HH Gregg tomorrow to finalize our appliance selections.  We also have an appointment with Kyle at Edgewood Building Supply tomorrow to choose our brick.  Information on our closets has been emailed to me, and those have been finalized – they’re pretty simple so nothing drastic has to be changed there.  An appointment with Tony at Light Gallery has been scheduled for next Tuesday and after that, it’s only bath accessories and mirrors from Godby Hearth & Home and we’re finished!!!  I’d definitely say progress has been made on the house!!!
Our house from the front yard!!
Our house from the front yard!!
View from the dining room, looking into the living room and rest of the house.

View from the dining room, looking into the living room and rest of the house.

From our backyard.

From our backyard.

School…

  • My first couple assignments have been finished and submitted…and guess what?!  I’ve gotten 5 out of 5 on all of them!!! 🙂  Such a stellar student I am!!!  Of course, now I have to submit the major assignments…you know, the ones worth 50 points!!!  But one of those is already completely and half of another one is completed, so I’d say I’m on the track to ultimate success!!  I’m also finally having my internet installed tomorrow, so that will help a ton!!!

See…I wasn’t kidding!!!  Some serious progress has been made!!  I know, I know – I said we were just going to follow the Wedding Channel timeline, but Wendy was on it, so I couldn’t deny her!!

P.S. Only 2 more days!!!

