Anyone who knows anything about Scotland will tell you there is definitely no shortage of wedding venues there.  From elaborate churches to impressive golf courses, not to mention your pick of the five-century old castle or the more recently updated castle, and oh! – you can’t forget the plethora of hotels, Scotland’s got it all…which doesn’t exactly make our decision any easier!!  When my sister and Paul got married in Rome, they pretty much knew what they wanted – a wedding overlooking the Colosseum.  Let me tell you, it made for some great photographs, and I’m sure that anything we choose in Scotland will be just the same, but let me enlighten you as to what I’ve run into thus far:

  • Price.  Holy cow!!!  Have  you seen the exchange rates lately!!  They’re absolutely unpredictable!!  The Great Britain Pound has always been stronger than the Euro, and of course, the Euro is stronger than the United States Dollar.  This has proved to be quite tricky!!  I remember when my sister, mom, and I were in Europe last June.  We were checking the exchange rates and 1 GBP was equal to 1.80 USD.  Now, 1 GBP equals 1.45 USD…which is down quite considerably…but honestly, if you check it tomorrow, it’ll be completely different!!!  Needless to say, “The World’s Favorite Currency and Foreign Exchange Site” has become my favorite site!!!  Anyway, things are so much more expensive over there – and because I want to make it as affordable as possible for people to attend our wedding, I’ve tried to find ways around things.  For instance, there’s one certain place I have in mind that my entire family is in love with (in love might be a little strong for everyone, but I’m in love…and that’s all that counts) but the price is quite high…and when I say quite high, I mean $200 per person, per night.  I have found some nice B&B’s in the surrounding area which have pretty reasonably prices, but we’ll have to wait and see what gets decided in the end.
  • Location.  So many conflicting ideas here!!!  The boys want to be close enough to play St. Andrews, but we want to find a venue that is equally appealing to all of us “non-golfers“.  Neil and I loved this beautiful 6th century castle that was surrounded by mountains and lochs, but unfortunately, it’s about 4 1/2 hours from ANYWHERE.  Then, there was another place we really liked, but it might as well have been in Norway.  Either way, I think we at least have a couple narrowed down that are near St. Andrews or Edinburgh or even Glasgow.
  • Lack of Pictures.  Pictures are honestly worth 1,000 words…so my question: why can’t websites understand this concept and post more pictures rather than try to explain how beautiful their venue is for weddings.  Let me see the real thing!!  Fortunately, Wendy has been an absolute LIFE SAVER and has provided me with some great photographs from previous weddings she has coordinated, but there could never be enough.  I expect to go to a website and be flooded with photo albums of beautiful pictures of previous weddings.  One site in particular was boasting on how romantic their weddings were…and there was ONE stinkin’ picture!!!!

I honestly am hoping that by next week my family will have made a decision and I can disclose this mystery place I’ve been discussing.  Me, being my superstitious self, doesn’t want to announce to the world our plans until their (semi) set in stone!!!

