Today I started the first day of my final undergraduate semester. Seeing everyone again was rather refreshing…especially since I saw three people in particular – and each of them were very excited to see me.  First was my teacher, Susie. She was so excited for the “girly stuff” and was impressed with my ring. Ah, Susie!!! You always make me smile. Second, I saw Kayleigh. For those of you who don’t know, Kayleigh is my soon-to-be cousin…her and my cousin Colin were engaged on her 21st birthday, November 23rd. Of course her and I got to discuss wedding stuff…I love it!!! By the way – Colin, you did great!! Her ring is gorgeous – and so is she…so great job on both ends!! 🙂 Third was Emily.  Poor Emily just got her boyfriend to move in with her…it’s okay Em…it’ll come soon enough!! Either way, we got to talk wedding, too…and 499…boo!!! 😦 For the most part, since being engaged, I’ve been around people who were there when it happened…so to them, it’s been old news, but being around people I hadn’t seen yet sort of made me realize something…I’M ENGAGED!!! I think today would be the day I can officially say that it hit me!

I noticed it first when I was driving home from school. I wanted to stop by Target and GameStop to see if they had Mario Kart for Wii (which they don’t – and if you know where I can stinkin’ find one…let me know!!! It’s making me crazy!!) When I got back in the car, a song came on the radio – not one I recognized, but a slower, loving, happy song.  One about true love and finding the one you want to spend the rest of your life with…and that’s when it hit me. On December 25th, Neil decided to make a life-long commitment to me, and only me. He made the decision that I was the one he wanted to spend the rest of his life with. I was the future (very, very far in the future) mother of his children. I was his one, true love. What else could be so perfect than that?

I remember just last week when I was at my parents’ store there were two girls from Center Grove in there and Paul had dragged me over (in my less-than-presentable-no-makeup-just-finished-working-out state) to mingle and see if I knew these girls. I recognized one of them and of course, being girls, we got to talking. She was telling me how her mother was engaged when she met her father. She left her fiance and started dating her father, and a couple months later, they were married. Of course, Jessica couldn’t see how her mother could know that this guy she just met was the one. Her mother replied with “when it happens to you, you’ll know.” I couldn’t agree more with that statement. Of course, Neil and I have had our ups and downs, but deep down inside, I’ve always known. We’ve tested each other, we’ve gotten on each others’ last nerve, we’ve fought, we’ve cried, we’ve laughed – we’ve done it all, and through it all, we’ve come out stronger.

So, today it finally hit me. It hit me that we really are taking it to the next step. In a short 18-months (because believe me…it’ll be short!!), we’ll be husband and wife. We’ll be each others #1 for ever and for always…and I can’t wait for that day. Some call it “wishing your life away”, but as one smart girl put it, “when you find the person you want to spend the rest of your life with, you want the rest of your life to begin as soon as possible.” (Thanks, Kristin!)

I couldn’t be happier…and I know Neil couldn’t be either. We are each others best friend…and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

