Anyone who knows me will tell you that I’m not exactly thrilled that my birthday is the day after Christmas. Sure, it’s great that I’ll, for the most part, always be with my family on my birthday, but it’s just a bummer that everything has to be crammed into two days out of the entire year…hence why I’ve claimed December as my birthday month.  I never would have thought that anything else exciting could be packed into these two days – but of course, Neil has found a way.

At about 10:35 pm Christmas night, Neil asked me to marry him.

I’ll never be able to explain the moment as it happened and since a picture is worth a thousand words, I wonder what a video is worth…

So there you have it!! We’re engaged!! It still hasn’t quite hit me yet, and in the words of my sister: I’m just destined to have every celebration packed into two days of the year! Needless to say, it was the best Christmas present ever!!

