So I don’t know for sure, but if you’re a bride anything like me, you’ve gone through the period of obsessing over fonts.  Sure, invitations don’t need to be out the door for a few more months still (6 to be exact….hmmmff….), but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been searching and looking and exploring.  I’ve been researching DIY invitations and have convinced myself that it’s a good idea.  I’m a bit of a perfectionist and I just haven’t been able to find anything online that I love – completely unchanged.  There’s always a change here or a change there.  Sure, in last week’s inspiration, I mentioned the invitation I found that we love, but there are still some changes I would make…which would surely cost more than we’re willing to fork over!  So, with that – I’ve decided to start the font research now because invitation creation will commence shortly, I’m sure…as I’ve learned, taking on the task of creating (let alone designing) your own invitations isn’t the simplest of tasks!! So let’s go through some of the fonts I’ve found so far…

MICROSOFT WORD: SCRIPT

Edwardian Script
Edwardian Script

This font is typical…I’m sure you’ve seen it a time or two at a wedding you’ve been to recently.  It’s a beautiful script – elegant and perfect – but perhaps it’s a bit overused.  Typically this (and a few others) are what you find in weddings where research wasn’t done.  Unfortunately, Microsoft Word doesn’t come with fancy fonts that every other bride hasn’t used.  But hey – some brides just don’t have the time to obsess over fonts like me…I mean, come on!  I’ve been engaged for almost a year!!!

Kunstler Script
Kunstler Script

Here’s another Microsoft Word font.  Kunstler Script is a bit more rare than Edwardian Script – and in my eyes, a bit more script-y (is that a word?!)  I’ve looked at Kunstler Script a thousand times…created invitations and menu cards in this font – and I love it – I just can’t get it out of my head that it’s a typical MS Word font.  I’m terrified another bride will have it.  It’s like showing up at a party and the girl next to you has on the same dress!  Not cool!  Right now, I wish I were a graphic designer and I could just create my own font – one that no other bride has ever even laid eyes on…now that would be supreme!

Vivaldi
Vivaldi

A bit more traditional and not as flowy, Vivaldi reminds me of a 1980s wedding!  Not to offend any brides out there who might have used it but it just seems very rigid and perfect.  The letters are thicker and just quite frankly, not my cup of tea!!

MICROSOFT WORD: OTHERS

French Script
French Script

French Script is always a fun font to use.  When you’re tight on budget and can’t afford to buy a font, or when you’re tight on time and can’t spend hours researching it, OR if you’re having a less formal wedding with a fun and funky flair…this font is a sure bet to make your guests smile.  It’s amazing how much the font of a wedding – especially when mimicked throughout the ceremony and reception – affects the atmosphere of a wedding!  This font screams, “We’re going to have some fun tonight!”

Lucida Calligraphy
Lucida Calligraphy

The Mr. and I have been to four weddings this year.  I am pretty confident when I say that THREE of those four weddings used Lucida Calligraphy for their wedding font.  Three out of four…really?  I mean, don’t get me wrong, it’s great, but when three out of four used it – you know it’s overused.  For us, it’s not formal enough…and remember what I said about a font.  Although, I will agree that it does have quite a bit of the calligraphy feel to it – and if brides are finding they can’t afford to hire a calligrapher, using this font may not be a bad idea!!!  I don’t know…I have mixed feelings.  What do you think?

Monotype Corsiva
Monotype Corsiva

Monotype Corsiva is very similar to Lucida Calligraphy.  The “N”‘s are nearly identical between the two and the only real difference I can see is that Monotype is a bit more bold than Lucida.  I’m on the same boat with this one as I was for Lucida, though.  Just not really my cup of tea…

Old English Text
Old English Text

For the more traditional bride out there…there’s always Old English Text!!!  Ahhhh this just reminds me of a page from Shakespeare’s text.  I love it!!  I would never use it in my own invitations, but I have a feeling there are some traditional Scottish brides out there who have used this a time or two in their own wedding stuff!!  It’s very traditional and probably one of the first wedding fonts to be seen in recent history.

Pristina
Pristina

I love Pristina and I have used for several different applications.  It’s such a fun and whimsical font.  It reminds me of traditional quick-script handwriting.  I can definitely see it in a bridal shower invitation or the like.

Vladimir Script
Vladimir Script

Perhaps this font should have gone under the Script category, but it’s just not the same script I think of when I think of true script.  I don’t know that I’ve seen this in a wedding invitation, but I could definitely see it there!  It would most absolutely work for a more laid-back wedding and I could definitely see it being part of the wedding font selection, but maybe not the main wedding font.  I don’t know…I’ll let you decide!!

So as I mentioned, I’ve been doing all kinds of research on fonts…and because I haven’t 100% committed to a particular font yet, I’m just looking at the free fonts I can gather online.  I’ll tell you this much, if I were made of money – there are some amazingly amazing fonts I would pick up in a heartbeat!!  But for now…here are the fonts I downloaded.

DOWNLOADED FONTS: SCRIPT

Baroque Script
Baroque Script

Baroque Script is gorgeous.  It’s a bit too bold for me, but I absolutely love the frills and curls.  When I first found this font, I was in love.  Of course, I have since found several other fonts that I’m in love with!  But this is definitely a top contender…  What are your feelings on Baroque Script?

Campaign Normal
Campaign Normal

I found this font back in January and immediately knew it was the one.  I loved the way the curls flew into the other letters – it’s so whimsical.  And if you remember, I used this font when we sent the preliminary invitations to see who was going to come to Scotland with us.  But the more I worked with it, the more I saw it’s true colors creeping out.  For instance, when you type the letter “J”, it makes a “J” just like you would in uppercase cursive…except…it fills in the top part of it.  I don’t know…hard to explain…but I hope you know what I mean!!  When I made the response cards and it said to return them by the first of June, I had to go into Paint and erase the filled in portion…which then left the whole response card looking grainy!  Needless to say, those invites were a headache and it was all because of the font, but of course – if you don’t mind the filled in “J”, this could very well be your font!!  I haven’t seen this font anywhere else – so you’re sure to be the only bride on the block with this font!!!  And it is definitely still stylish and gorgeous!!

Chopin Script
Chopin Script

Funny story about this font.  Forever and a million years ago, I was sitting on my couch – just as I am right now – researching fonts.  I was talking with Emily on Live Messenger and she was putting something together for her wedding…it might have been the monogram, but I’m not entirely sure.  Anyway, I had just downloaded Chopin Script and started putting it into preliminary documents such as the program and invitation – just to see what it would look like all put together.  For me, I have to see what all the words look like, I can’t just look at “The quick brown fox jumped over the fence.” and be okay with it.  I need to see my words.  My letters.  Well, after I saw it all with Chopin Script, I was convinced.  This was it (and this was before I found Campaign Normal).  Well, Emily chimed in and let me know that she had completed her monogram (or whatever it was she was working on!) and wanted to send it to me so I could see it (read: approve it!!!)  As if she had linked onto my computer, I opened the attachment to find a document with font that looked quite similar to the above…in fact, it was Chopin Script.  Grr!!  Really, Emily?!  So there went that fantasy!!  I was so excited that I had found our font and there she goes – just swiping it right from under my nose!!  Not. Cool.  Either way, I would never use it because hey!, it’s Emily’s wedding font…and quite frankly, I’d be upset if a bride I’d never met had my same font that I thought was unique – let alone my best friend!!  So there, Emily…it’s all yours!!  I promise not to steal!!  But seriously, how wonderful is this font?  It’s perfecto!

Freebooter Script
Freebooter Script

I’m not entirely certain where I landed upon this font but I. Love. It.  If you hadn’t noticed…it’s the same font as in our header and I’m totally satisfied with it!  It’s very possible this will be our font.  I have done so much work with it and it’s so elegant and exactly what I want.  I would love to see this font on our invitations and would be nothing less than perfectly satisfied with this font as the center of our wedding…being mimicked all throughout the day – from the programs to the place settings and menu cards.  I love it…can you tell? :)

Henry Morgan Hand
Henry Morgan Hand

Here’s a fun font I found this afternoon!!  It reminds me of something from Pocahontas!!  It’s so antique…like real antique, we’re talking 1700s antique!  I think it’d be perfect for a Scottish wedding – you know since history there is nothing like history here…where recent history is considered the 1800s!!!  But, like I said before…I have to love every aspect of the font and in this case, I don’t love the way “Celebrate, We Will” came out.  It just isn’t connected as perfectly as Freebooter Script was!

Jacoba
Jacoba

Jacoba reminds me a lot of Chopin Script, just without as many frills and curls.  It’s still bolder than I prefer, but a wonderful font for any wedding!!  However, I absolutely adore how the “W”‘s curl and twist!  They look so simple and stately.  Love. Love. Love.

Ministry Script

Ministry Script

How amazing is this?!  I love it.  Quick.  Elegant.  Perfect.  I love the “&” and how the “L”‘s change with what is coming next (see “Will”).  Unfortunately, with this font, it looks different in Word than it does in Paint (which is where I created this).  In Word, it’s not as script-ish and it’s definitely less formal…and clearly not as cool!!!  Buuuttttt….I did find out that if you have some of the Adobe applications (Photoshop, Editor, etc.) it will work in the more fancy way…and while I do have all the Adobe applications, I’m very rusty on them and don’t have the slightest clue as to how to make something in there…any suggestions would be greatly helpful!!!

Platthand Demo

Platthand Demo

Check. This. Out.!!!!  How fun!  It definitely takes up wayyyy too much room, but I think it would be fun to use for a simple monogram or something of the like.  I definitely don’t think you could use this as a true font for invitations and programs, but I think it could definitely work somehow.  The unfortunate thing with this font is that some letters are more elaborate than others, take for instance the “A”.  I mean, come on!!  It’s wayyy elaborate, whereas the “B” (which would be our monogram) is a bit more simple and not as fun to use!  This could definitely be used for certain monograms, but maybe not others!!

DOWNLOADED FONTS: FUN & LESS FORMAL…

Albemarle Swash

Albemarle Swash

How fun is this?  I’ve seen it used in an invitation, and that’s actually where I found the font to begin with!  I think it’s so whimsical and exciting and if I were having a casual and fun summer wedding, I would totally go for this!!  I’ve even hinted that it’d be so fun to use it for a certain bridal shower (::wink-wink::)!!!!  I love it!!  I really do wish I could get away with this font – but I just don’t think it’d fit in with our theme…bummer…..

Pea Faith

Pea Faith

Check this out!!  I found this cute little website while searching for wedding fonts and how wonderful is it?!  They have over 200 different fonts – all of real handwriting that people have sent in!!  You can even send in your own handwriting and Fonts for Peas will make your handwriting into a real-life font….and the best part yet….it’s F-R-E-E!!!!  This is just one of the examples of the several to choose from!!!  The greatest thing, too, is that you can download a bunch of them at once!  I downloaded over 50 Pea fonts in about 2 minutes!!  And they all show up in Word just perfectly!!  I think this would be a great font to use for bridal shower invitations.

Pea Jacks and Matty

Pea Jacks and Matty

Here’s another example of the Fonts for Peas selections to choose from.  You really have no idea what I mean when I say they have a ton of fonts to choose from – and they are all different kinds of handwriting.  I don’t particularly care for my handwriting, so this is something fun to use and you can find the handwriting you wish you had and use it in several applications – not even just invitations!!!

So now that you’re entirely fonted-out, I’ll complete my discussion.  There are soo many fonts out there to choose from, and you’ll have soooo many more choices if you’re willing to pay!!  Veer has nearly every font you’d ever want, but be sure you are absolutely, positively sure that you want the font you pay for…because believe me, it’s not cheap!!

